The Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine has declared Russia an aggressor country.

A total of 271 MPs voted for this decision at a parliament meeting on Tuesday.

Thus, the Verkhovna Rada adopted an appeal to the United Nations, the European Parliament, PACE, NATO Parliamentary Assembly, GUAM Parliamentary Assembly and the national parliaments, on the recognition of the Russian Federation as an aggressor country and the so-called Donetsk People's Republic (DPR) and Luhansk People's Republic (LPR) as terrorist organizations.

"The Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine declares the Russian Federation an aggressor country and encourages Ukraine's international partners to prevent impunity of those guilty for crimes against humanity committed since the beginning of aggression against Ukraine," Chairman of the Committee on Foreign Affairs Hanna Hopko quoted the text of the appeal.

MPs also request the international community to declare DPR and LPR terrorist organizations, to increase the pressure on Russia by the introduction of sectoral constraints, force it to fulfill the Minsk agreements and end the occupation of Crimea.

Besides, the document also refers to the obligation of the Russian Federation to release all hostages, including those held on the territory of Russia, in particular, MP Nadia Savchenko and to limit the powers of Russian delegation to PACE.

In this appeal the Verkhovna Rada has also called on international partners to provide Ukraine with military and humanitarian assistance.


Add comment